Steak night makes me happy! It’s something I look forward to… And inevitably spend much of my week planning. I rarely order steak in a restaurant for fear that it might disappoint (that said I recently had a surprisingly delicious steak dinner at Cafe Rouge). 

In the constant quest for the perfect steak, I did some research to find a new butchers. I stumbled across Stilton Butchers who offer a 40 day dry-aged fillet steak – perfect!  

Steaks this good-looking delivered straight to the door – what a win! 

  
So then, the pressure was on… How to do justice to this beautiful meat!! After much deliberation, I decided to go with classic flavours (seemed reasonable), and two variations (one for me, one for the wife).

Version one was for the wife, with a chestnut mushroom duxelle, crispy shallot, fine asparagus and Pommes Parisienne… Finished with a Stilton cream sauce. 

 
Nothing out of the ordinary here, but this was my first attempt at Pommes Parisienne – a delicious ball of new potato gently boiled and then roasted. 

Version two featured a bordelaise sauce (made with melted bone marrow, and a rich veal Demi-glacé), cavolo Nero and a parsnip purée.

  
I’ll let you decide which (if either) is your favourite. 

The steak was accompanied by a beautiful 2012 Chateauneuf-du-Pape – received with thanks from my father-in-law.

Saturday night success! Yum!